June 2021 Machias – On June 23, Down East Community Hospital held its 2021 Annual Meeting of Corporators to report on the accomplishments of 2020.

DECH, CEO, Steve Lail, “We are pleased to announce that DECH had another strong financial year in 2020 and are proud to continue to maintain and support a variety of services to our community, especially during the pandemic.  Even without the support of the stimulus funds, the hospital was able to maintain its profitability.  We were able to update equipment and the facility.  We purchased a new CT Scanner and Digital Imaging equipment and expanded the Pharmacy and the Infusion Clinic.  We also began construction on the Family Practice Clinic in East Machias.  We remained financially strong throughout the year because our community continued to support our hospital throughout the pandemic by using our services and by giving a hand wherever they could.  We are grateful for them and our dedicated staff.”

Three new Trustees have joined the DECH Board: Ian Pratt of Calais, Gwen Jones of Pembroke, and Judd Bragg of Machias.  Four new Corporators were also added: Aleisha Milburn of Eastport, Todd Smith of Perry, Robert Lacy of Jonesboro, Alfred May of Trescott, and Benjamin Edwards of Machias. Down East Community Hospital is pleased to welcome them to the organization and look forward to their participation in future meetings and activities.

Dr. Eric Burke and Wayne Peters completed their years of service, and we want to take this opportunity to publicly thank them for the countless hours dedicated to our hospital. Dr. Burke served 12 years during which he served as Quality Improvement Patient Safety Chair, Vice Chair and Chairman.  Wayne Peters served 9 years during which he served as Governance Chair, Board Secretary, Vice Chair and most recently Chairman.  They will be greatly missed.

We would also like to thank all who currently sit on the DECH Board of Trustees: Kathy Land, Chair; Lisa Carlisle, Vice Chair; Michael Hennessey, Treasurer; Nate Martell, Secretary; Jack Corrigan; Jackie O’Clair; Betty (BJ) Marshall; Rose St. Louis; Corey Schwinn; Karen Eldridge; Dr. Rita Ten; Dr. Christian Inegbenijie; Gwen Jones; Ian Pratt; Judd Bragg. The time they dedicate to this hospital is invaluable and deeply appreciated.

An electronic copy of the 2020 Annual Report is on the DECH website at www.dech.org/About Us/Annual Report.

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.